Review: Fatal Vision – Twice

Review: Fatal Vision – Twice

Pride & Joy Music (June 23rd, 2023)

Reviewer: Chris O’Connor

Prepare to be swept away by the melodic rock masterpiece that is Fatal Vision‘s sophomore album, ‘Twice’. Released on June 26, 2023, under the esteemed Pride & Joy Music label, this album marks the glorious return of the Canadian rock outfit. Building upon the success of their debut album, ‘Once’, which made waves in 2022, peaking at #10 on the Japanese import chart and reaching impressive positions on iTunes rock charts in Canada, Mexico, and Switzerland, Fatal Vision is back to captivate listeners once again.

Led by the mesmerizing vocals of Simon Marwood, who co-founded the band back in 1988, Fatal Vision boasts a line-up of extraordinary talent. With Juan Miguel Gomez Montant on guitars and backing vocals, Scottie Irving on keyboards and backing vocals, Alex Wickham on drums, and Andrew Burns on bass guitar and backing vocals, this band is a force to be reckoned with.

Twice’ immerses you in a sonic tapestry that beautifully weaves together elements of the past and the present. Fatal Vision pays homage to their musical influences, drawing inspiration from legendary acts such as Survivor, Bad English, Loverboy, Night Ranger, and REO Speedwagon. The album features thirteen tracks that showcase the band’s artistry and evolution.

The journey begins with the first single, ‘In My Fantasy’ a hard-hitting rock anthem that harkens back to the glory days of Melodic Rock in its ‘80’s heyday. Its infectious energy and memorable hooks are guaranteed to have you pumping your fist in the air. As the album progresses, you find yourself immersed in the post-apocalyptic soundscape of ‘Tomorrow Never Comes’ which is definitely reminiscent of the atmospheric prowess of Asia. The influences of Alice Cooper and Ghost become palpable in the haunting and theatrical track ‘Welcome To My Nightmare’ (not a cover of the Coop classic btw).

Fatal Vision demonstrates their prowess in crafting power ballads with tracks like ‘End of the Dream’, a breath-taking duet featuring the rising Nashville artist Christine Corless, who also lent her talents to the band’s debut album. The emotional journey continues with ‘The Last Summer Night’ and ‘Don’t Fall In Love With A Dreamer’, the latter showcasing Simon Marwood‘s fine vocal range with a record-setting 26-second final note.

The album takes a captivating turn with the mid-tempo duet ‘Time Has Left Us As Strangers’, once again showcasing the undeniable chemistry between Marwood and Corless. The melancholic offering ‘Ghosts Of Yesterday’ tugs at your heartstrings, while the energizing rock anthem ‘In The Middle Of The Night’ ignites the fire within. Finally, ‘Start Again’ provides a triumphant and fitting conclusion to this musical odyssey.

Throughout ‘Twice’, Fatal Vision exhibits masterful musicianship, blending powerful vocals, electrifying guitar solos, enchanting keyboard melodies, a thunderous rhythm section, and poignant lyrics. Each track stands on its own, yet they seamlessly flow together, creating a cohesive and unforgettable listening experience.

With their captivating storytelling and impeccable craftsmanship, Fatal Vision has not only delivered a stellar sophomore album but has also left an indelible mark on the rock music landscape. Prepare to be captivated, moved, and inspired by ‘Twice’ an album that solidifies Fatal Vision‘s place as real contenders in the field of melodic rock. As a final aside – should. we maybe presume that album number three will be called ‘Thrice’ or maybe ‘Third Time Lucky’? Just a thought really.


01 Dominoes

02 In My Fantasy

03 Thick As Thieves

04 End Of The Dream

05 In The Middle Of The Night

06 That Was Then This Is Now

07 Time Has Left Us As Strangers

08 Start Again

09 Ghosts Of Yesterday

10 Welcome To My Nightmare

11 The Last Summer

12 Tomorrow Never Comes

13 Don’t Fall In Love With A Dreamer