Review: Nighthawk – Prowler

Review: Nighthawk – Prowler

Mighty Music (May 12th 2023)

Reviewer: Chris O’Connor

Nighthawk’s sophomore album ‘Prowler‘ is an absolute triumph, capturing the very essence of what makes melodic rock so irresistible. From the very first notes of the opening track, this album exudes an infectious energy that will have you tapping your feet and nodding your head in time with the music. It’s the perfect soundtrack for a night out with friends, the ultimate embodiment of the Friday night party spirit.

What really sets ‘Prowler‘ apart from other albums in the genre is the calibre of musicianship on display. With Robert Majd at the helm, Nighthawk has assembled a band of incredible talent. Björn Strid’s powerhouse vocals are a perfect match for the driving rhythms laid down by Magnus Ulfstedt, while John Lönnmyr‘s keyboard wizardry adds an extra layer of depth to the sound. And with Christan Ek providing the bass grooves, this is a band that truly knows how to rock.

Recorded live at the legendary Abbey Road Studios, ‘Prowler‘ is a testament to the band’s raw talent and musicianship. Over the course of just two days, Nighthawk laid down nine original tunes and two cover songs, including some classic Kiss and Bruce Springsteen tracks. The result is an album that captures the excitement and energy of a live performance, with all the polish and precision of a studio recording.

From the minute opening track Running Wildkicks in, the band instantly impresses, there is an urgency and impassioned fire to their music. ‘Action’ is a foot to the floor rocker, while ‘Flame Still Burns’ is a more measured but melodic gem – with a huge hook and chorus. Free Your Mind’ follows, the verse is not what I’d expected, but the chorus is fabulous!

Now I will be honest, I am not the world’s biggest Kiss fan, so Nighthawk’s cover of ‘God Of Thunder’ doesn’t honestly do a huge amount for me. Strike Like Lightningis another fist pumping up-tempo rocker, which is followed by a decent cover of Springsteen’s Cover Me’.

Burn The Night is a short sharp shock, that rips along furiously, with the anthemic Playing The Gamefollowing. The album closes out with the gentle and reflective See You Again which features a stunning organ solo, and ends the album perfectly.

In short, ‘Prowler‘ is a must-listen for anyone who loves melodic rock, hard rock, or just great music in general. With its unapologetic, in-your-face sound and brilliant musicianship, this album is sure to become a classic in the genre. So, if you’re looking for an album to soundtrack your next night out, look no further than Nighthawk‘s ‘Prowler‘ – it’s the perfect companion for a night of good music, good friends, and good times.


01 Highest Score

02 Running Wild

03 Action

04 Flame Still Burns

05 Free Your Mind

06 God Of Thunder

07 Strike Like Lightning

08 Cover Me

09 Burn The Night

10 Playing The Game

11 See You Again