Bonfire To Release ‘MMXXIII’ Re-Recordings Of Iconic Albums ‘Point Blank’, ‘Fireworks’ & ‘Don’t Touch The Light’, New Lyric Video For ‘S.D.I. (MMXXIII Version)’

For more than 35 years, Bonfire are the embodiment of “Hard’n’Heavy made in Germany“. September 22, 2023 will see the band reissue their most wanted albums ‘Point Blank‘, ‘Fireworks‘ and ‘Don’t Touch The Light‘ as ‘MMXXIII‘ re-recording versions with an entirely new artwork! Available for the very first time as digital format on all streaming providers, as coloured limited and none limited vinyl and as CD digipack, you can now pre-save your favourite album via AFM Records at this location.

Bonfire belong to one of the most iconic German hard rock bands of the past forty years, and their 2020 offering, ‘Fistful Of Fire‘, garnered high positions in the German album charts. Their first three releases ‘Don’t Touch The Light‘ (1986),‘Fireworks‘ (1987) and ‘Point Blank‘ (1989), which have shaped a whole era, still hold a special position in Bonfire’s career. As one of the group’s founding members and its main composer, Hans Ziller came up with an ambitious idea: How would the songs from those now slightly dated releases sound if they were re-recorded in contemporary studio conditions? This concept was particularly exciting because the band’s current line-up is one of the strongest of their entire career.

And so his idea began to take shape: The outstanding, current Bonfire line-up has completely re-recorded all three albums, supported by updated cover artwork and a sound to make your heart beat faster. The result will be released on 22 September 2023 on AFM/Soulfood. As Ziller comments: “What we wanted to do was to record the songs as if Bonfire had been a metal band in the eighties!”

Naturally, you need first-rate musicians for this kind of ambitious, re-recording undertaking, and that’s precisely what Bonfire mark 2023 have: Greek singer DYAN, one of the greatest European vocal talents of our time, has recently joined the Bonfire fold. Ziller hadn’t realised that the man from southern Europe has always been a huge Bonfire fan for whom a lifelong dream came true. In less than two weeks, the 30-year-old had mastered all 35 songs from the three cult albums. Ziller enthuses: “Dyan can simply sing anything, from rock vocals to falsetto. You only have to listen to him to realise that he will excel live.” In addition to DYAN and Ziller, the line-up includes solo guitarist Frank Pané (Valley’s Eve, Sainted Sinners), New York bassist Ronnie Parkes and drummer Fabio Allesandrini (Annihilator).

What literally screams metal by name definitely sounds like it: These recent recordings of ‘Don’t Touch The Light‘, ‘Fireworks‘ and ‘Point Blank‘ see Bonfire deliver the timeless material from the original albums in a powerful sound that, despite its unbridled power, has lost none of its complexity. Hans Ziller: “Of course, we kept to the original arrangements as much as possible, perhaps slightly changing a riff now and then or updating the sound of a guitar part. But all the essential elements, right down to the lyrics, have remained untouched.”


Hans Ziller – Lead Guitar
Frank Pane – Lead Guitar
Ronnie Parkes – Bass
Fabio Alessandrini – Drums
DYAN – Lead Vocals

Official Website



AFM Records / Shop