Spanish Female Fronted Prog Rock Band The Flying Caravan Signs With Wormholedeath

The progressive rock band from Alicante (Spain) The Flying Caravan has signed a contract with the Italian record label Wormholedeath to re-release their double album ‘I Just Wanna Break Even‘, recorded in 2021.

The influence of classic bands like Camel, Pink Floyd, Kansas, Be Bop Deluxe and new progs bands like The Flower Kings, Karmakanic, and Transatlantic, and musicians such as Roine Stolt, Neal Morse, and Jonas Reingold becomes evident with the sounds of progressive and classic rock being present throughout the six tracks of the record and thus creating the proper atmosphere for the development of the band´s music.

The group has received very positive reviews for their recording debut on several specialized websites, being broadcasted on worldwide radio stations and appearing in many “2021 best album” lists.

The band, headed by its guitar player Antonio Valiente, has undergone changes in its original formation. New singer Julia Novecento and keyboardist José Hernández have recently joined the band. Drummer Lluis Mas and bass player Pedro Pablo Molina continue in the band from the beginning.

At the moment, the group is adding the final touches to new themes that will form part of their new record.

Born in Alicante in 1970, Antonio started playing the guitar at the age of 13 with Mark Knopfler as his main musical influence and assimilating the fingerpicking style as his own.
Since the age of 18, he has been learning modern techniques and harmony with different guitar teachers. As an avid record collector, he devours all types of music from bands and styles he gets acquainted.

With his first band, Yeomen, he performed live for the first time while gaining influence from bands like Camel, Jethro Tull, Kansas, Pink Floyd, Genesis, and Yes, and musicians such as Andy Latimer, Martin Barre, David Gilmour or Bill Nelson.
Antonio was one of the founding members of the group Numen in 1972 with whom he recorded two albums, ‘Samsara‘ (1998) and ‘Numenclature‘ (2014), as well as the DVD ‘Numenclature-Un viaje en progresivo‘.
Since 2000 he has been a member of the bands Malatesta Bier BandWhiskey con YodaThe Worms, and Kamikaze Sound Express with whom he has played a variety of styles.

From that year onwards, he focused on the idea of developing his own compositions to record a double album. When Juanjo Sánchez (keyboard) joined the project in 2004, all ended up as The Flying Caravan.
However, the turning point for the project took place when Izaga Plata (vocals) joined it. It was then when she and Antonio developed the vocal melodies and the lyrics for the record.
With the entry of Pedro Pablo Molina (bass), Lluís Mas (drums), and the return of Juanjo, the project became established.

The band recorded their first double, ‘I Just Wanna Break Even‘ in Altea between March and August 2017 with the help of some good friends and great musicians.
The recording of The Flying Caravan was made in the studio of the Miguel Hernández University, in Altea, with Daniel Montiel as the sound engineer, audio mixing and mastering process, with Lluis Mas in his studio in Alicante, and Antonio Valiente and Lluis Mas as the producers of the album.

After a two-year lasting production, during which keyboards and percussions were added, the album was finally released on January 11 2021 displaying the collaboration of Manolo Salido (sax), Juan Carlos Aracil (flute), and Jorge Aniorte (vocals).
The album cover has been designed by the outstanding illustrator Mario Domínguez.


  1. Get Real
  2. Flying Caravan
  3. Upstream to Manonash
  4. Love´s Labour Mislaid
  5. The Bumpy Road to Knowledge
  6. A Fairy Tale For Grown-Ups
  7. The Bumpy Road to Knowledge (Alt. Version)


Julia Novecento: vocals and keyboards
Pedro Pablo Molina: bass guitar
Antonio Valiente: guitars
José Hernández: keyboards and vocals
Lluís Mas: drums and percussion

Official Website