DeWolff Reveal New Song ‘Half Of Your Love’

Psychedelic trio DeWolff have gone disco on their new song ‘Half Of Your Love‘ which is taken from their new album, ‘Wolffpack‘, which is out next week via Mascot Records.

To celebrate the release of their new album ‘Wolffpack‘ on 5th February, the band will be playing a free live concert stream with special guests at Tivoli Vredenburg at 7.30pm UK time. You can watch it live Here

Talking about the song the band say; “You might not have guessed it, but 70’s disco music is our guilty pleasure. Songs like Da Ya Think I’m Sexy or any ABBA song never fail to fill us with an unstoppable urge to move along to the groove. The main melody for HALF OF YOUR LOVE was actually meant for another song (Homegrown) but we decided it was too beautiful to be tucked away somewhere in a blues song. It needed a bigger spotlight -and a disco ball of course. “Keep the best for yourself, I only need less than half of your love”… This might just become your guilty pleasure too!

On studio album number nine, amid the international Covid19 pandemic, they had no intention of just waiting for things to blow over. “I figured: never in our lives are we going to have this much time again to soak up inspiration, to write and create,” Pablo reflects. “Music is our favourite thing in the world.”  With lockdown restrictions imposed across the world, the recording was as far from ‘Tascam Tapes‘ as you can get. A “DeWolff Demo Panel” WhatsApp group was set-up between Pablo, Luka van de Poel (drums) and Robin Piso (Hammond Organ) for them to exchange ideas. What started as an idea, grew. In June, they announced a special subscription Wolffpack service. Those that signed up would get three new songs, every two weeks for ten weeks, and the fans would get to choose the tracklisting for an album, exclusive to them.

Several friends appear on the album such as soulful roots rockers the Dawn Brothers, blues rockers The Grand East, singer-songwriter Judy Blank, the riotous Broken Brass, French singer-songwriter Theo Lawrence and ex-Wolfmother bassist Ian Peres.

The album kicks off with the first song they finished, the soulful psychedelic funk of ‘Yes You Do‘, featuring Ian Peres and longtime friend of the band, Judy Blank. “We wrote it in a Zoom meeting!” he says. They first met Peres back in 2012, sat at a table with Lenny Kravitz and Andrew Stockdale. “I was of course, completely starstruck, Ian was super kind and interested, and he had even heard about DeWolff. We clicked right away, and when we were touring Australia in 2013, we met up with him in Mullumbimby where we had an epic full-day jam session at his buddy’s studio.

Treasure City Moonchild‘, struts in with a funky swagger and Piso’s trademark swirling Hammond, with Dawn BrothersLevis Vis providing some Bass juice. ‘Do Me‘, includes Theo Lawrence on vocals and is through the eyes of an anti-hero who realizes he isn’t worthy of the woman of his dreams. ‘Sweet Loretta‘ features Dawn BrothersStefan Wolfs and Darilyn‘s Diwa Meijman. “Loretta is the protagonist’s childhood sweetheart. She has a rich dad, but he’s really conservative, and so she can only inherit his money if she marries a man. But she’s lesbian. So, the protagonist, who’s also out for this old guy’s money, suggests they play pretend and marry so they can split the money.

The album ends with the forlorn ‘Hope Train‘. Based on the Pulitzer prize-winning novel by Colson Whitehead about two slaves in the US during the 19th century, who make a bid for freedom from their Georgia plantation. “I found it really hard to envision the world in which it takes place,” he says.

In their studio bunker in the Medieval town of Utrecht, The Netherlands, during the global lockdown, brothers Pablo and Luka van de Poel and Robin Piso have created another majestic record. Experimenting with hazy soundscapes, fizzing riffs, marauding organs, infectiously free-roaming melodies, and all tied in with an undeniably DeWolff sound. Liberators of the funky groove, they’re riding the highways swerving in an out of 70s soul-funk, fuzzed-up psychedelia, swamp-rock and haunting melancholia, with their shades on, convertible top-down and radio on, their sights are set on the horizon.


  1. Yes You Do
  2. Treasure City Moonchild
  3. Do Me
  4. Sweet Loretta
  5. Half Of Your Love
  6. Lady J
  7. Roll Up The Rise
  8. Bona Fide
  9. R U My Savior?
  10. Hope Train

Official Website