Review: Into The Unknown – Breaking The Silence 

Vigilante Records (September 6th 2019)

Reviewer: Paul Saripo

Into The Unknown are capable musicians hailing from Buckinghamshire comprising original members Lucie Hölzlová delivering Vocals, Ryan Atkins on guitar, Rupert Withers driving the bass and production and two new additions to the band Mike Ballard on drums and James Milner on rhythm guitars, who have created this second album ‘Breaking The Silence‘.

Riffs start heavy and deep, with ‘Pandora’s Box‘. A catchy tune and felt well developed with guitar solos arranged with synergy.

Moving on, I became slightly disappointed as the album progressed, I felt some of the verses had been stretched out with over use of a refrain, I know for some this will be great and anthem like but for me having listened to the album front to back several times I felt it could have moved on a little at times. That said, they did hook me in for a short while.

There is a good mix of musical arrangement on the album and in some cases variety within individual songs too that are adventurous and work.

From a classic symphonic rock to an almost electronic orchestral sound as found on the intro to ‘What is Love‘ an interesting and rocked up cover of Howard Jones early 80’s pop hit. The vocal approach is more linear than the original yet pulls it off to success with a powerful intensity.

I liked the guitars and the vocal of ‘Back In Time‘, a slower tempo track that worked together.

The album is a mixture of styles and to me, if I closed my eyes I could almost imaging this to be a musical score written for a theatrical musical with all its twists and turns in different directions. This was a distraction to me, and probably why I felt a little disappointed as I so wanted to like this album more.

One such distraction, particularly on the crescendo on ‘Heroes and Victims‘, the build-up is brought up to a point that has an audible fast fadeout and change into the wonderful acoustic outro. This track has some beautiful pieces however I felt some of the instrument tracks competed with one another at times.  Having said that, fans of musicals and musical interludes and changes will probably love this album for its originality.

The vocals sounded to have some nasality and I thought that the highs and lows had been straining slightly in some sections.

However, Lucie Hölzlová has some huge potential and really sings convincing lyrics with passion.

Overall, I feel more fluid transitions can be made and construction in this area will develop as the band play and create music together on stage and in sessions.

These are talented musicians with plenty of originality, I hope this band will evolve together for the better as they write, play and deliver music to a live audience.



The hard rock band from Greek-Australians Into The Unknown return with their second studio album, ‘Breaking The Silence‘, due for worldwide release on September 6th 2019 via Vigliante Records/ Nova/ Universal Music.

Into The Unknown released their first album, ‘Out of the Shadows‘ in 2017, and followed it up with a digital only mini album of covers, entitled ‘The Other Side of the Wall‘, but with only three members vocalist Lucie Hölzlová, Guitarist Ryan Atkins and bassist/producer Rupert Withers, they were limited when it came to showcasing the music live.  A few acoustic sets were performed (the first in front of a crowd of 2000 in an open air venue), however the band really wanted to perform the songs as they intended them, full on and fired up! Fast forward to June 2019, and they are pleased to announce new blood in the band, namely James Milner on rhythm guitar, and Mike Bennett on drums.  This new line up was revealed with the release of their version of the Gary Moore/Phil Lynott classic song, ‘Out In The Fields‘.  Thus plans are now afoot to tour in the not too distant future.

The new album, “Breaking the Silence” is an evolution from their previous album, written by Lucie, Ryan and Rupert, it moves further into the symphonic rock arena that was hinted at in “Out of The Shadows”.  Once more they decided to try and create a diverse collection of songs, with what they are proud to admit many critics have stated is their distinctive sound.  From the heavy rocking “Pandora’s Box” that opens the album, through the celtic influenced “Heroes and Victims” to the piano ballad “You Can’t Have Love Without The Pain” the album is an hours worth of music, written from the heart.  Known for their cover recordings, the band don’t disappoint with their rocked up version of Howard Jones’ 80s pop hit “What Is Love?”.  Lucie’s vocals pour feeling into the performance, and Ryan’s guitar work compliments them with heartfelt solos.  Songs such as “Broken”, “I’ve Had Enough” and “Back In Time” highlight emotional turmoil, whilst “Are You Ready?” and “Live Your Life” are out and out rock songs, destined to be live favourites.

Breaking the Silenceis due for release on Vigilante Records, via Nova/Universal, and the Orchard, on September 6th 2019.

Check out the band’s new single of the band of Gary Moore’s “Out In The Fields” on their Faceback page:

October 20th 2017 sees the release of the debut album from the band Into The Unknown through Vigilante Records.

Entitled Out of the Shadows it showcases 11 songs ranging from the acoustic ‘Breaking My Heart‘ through the anthemic ‘Monsters” to the hard rocking ‘Why Me?’ and ‘Once‘.  Throw into the mix an interesting choice of covers – Miley Cyrus’ ‘Wrecking Ball‘ and Chris de Burghs’ ‘Don’t Pay the Ferryman‘- and you have a diverse album full of catchy choruses, soaring vocals and raucous riffs.

Track list:

1. Don’t Pay The Ferryman

2. Real Life Superman

3. Why Me?

4. We Are One

5. Monsters

6. Someone Like You

7. Wrecking Ball

8. Once

9. Breaking My Heart

10. Do You Want To

11. Demons And Angels

Official Website