Gov’t Mule Announce ‘Heavy Load Blues Deluxe Edition’

Renowned quartet Gov’t Mule – led by GRAMMY® Award-winning vocalist, songwriter, guitar legend, and producer Warren Haynes – has announced the deluxe version of their critically acclaimed, chart-topping blues album, ‘Heavy Load Blues‘, will be available digitally across all streaming platforms on Friday, April 1st. Presshere to pre-save now and receive an instant download of the Haynes original ‘Hiding Place’.

Heavy Load Blues‘ (Fantasy Records), the band’s first-ever blues album which debuted at #1 on the Billboard Blues Albums chart upon its November 2021 release, encompasses an even mix of Haynes’ originals and revered covers. The deluxe version, which will also officially be available on vinyl as of April 1st, features 8 additional studio and live tracks, including covers originally by Savoy Brown, Sonny Boy Williamson, Muddy Waters, Otis Rush in addition to ‘Hiding Place’.

Worldwide, ‘Heavy Load Blues‘ has amassed over 5 million total global streams and critical praise and support from the likes of Consequence, Guitar World, Brooklyn Vegan, No Depression, Ultimate Classic Rock, Pop Matters, Downbeat, Classic Rock, Relix, Guitar Magazine, Paste and many more.

The core 13-track album, produced by Haynes alongside engineer and co-producer John Paterno (Elvis Costello, Michael Landau, Bonnie Raitt, Robbie Williams, Los Lobos), features the original track ‘Heavy Load’, their rendition of the Tom Waits classic ‘Make It Rain’, a groovy arrangement of the Junior Wells standard ‘Snatch It Back and Hold It, and more originally made famous by the likes of Howlin’ Wolf, Elmore James, Ann Peebles, Bobby “Blue” Bland, and The Animals.

Though technically considered a studio album, ‘Heavy Load Blues‘ was recorded live in the studio at The Power Station New England on analog tape, utilising vintage guitars, amps and other equipment to capture an authentic sound. Listen to ‘Heavy Load Blues‘: here.

Gov’t Mule recently launched a new weekly video series ‘Session Sunday’ exclusively on their YouTube channel featuring live performances of featured tracks off Heavy Load Blues. Presshere to watch the first video for ‘Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home’ and Presshere to watch the second instalment for ‘If Heartaches Were Nickels’ and then follow along for six weeks for more.
1. Blues Before Sunrise
2. Hole In My Soul
3. Wake Up Dead
4. Love Is A Mean Old World
5. Snatch It Back and Hold It – Hold It Back – Snatch It Back and Hold It
6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
7. (Brother Bill) Last Clean Shirt
8. Make It Rain
9. Heavy Load
10. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home
11. If Heartaches Were Nickels
12. I Asked Her For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
13. Black Horizon

Deluxe Version – Bonus Tracks: 
1. Hiding Place
2. You Know My Love
3. Street Corner Talking
4. Have Mercy On The Criminal
5. Long Distance Call
6. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home (Extended Version)
7. Need Your Love So Bad (Live)
8. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl with Hook Herrera (Live)

About Gov’t Mule and Warren Haynes
Gov’t Mule – Warren Haynes [vocals, guitar], Matt Abts [drums], Danny Louis [keyboards, guitar, and backing vocals], and Jorgen Carlsson [bass] – has galvanized a global fan base with their honest, organic and daring music and improvisational virtuosity, leading them to be recognised as one of the most timeless, revered and active bands in the world whose spot amongst rock titans remains unshakable. Led by visionary GRAMMY Award-winning artist and guitar legend Warren Haynes – a cornerstone of the American music landscape – the enduring, globally revered group has showcased its intelligence and breadth over the course of 20+ studio and live albums, thousands of memorable performances and millions of album and track sales. Gov’t Mule has become a human encyclopaedia of great American music while adding to that canon with their signature sound. The band’s flexible interplay in the studio and on stage makes them a true living, breathing ensemble and Haynes is lauded as one of the most formidable guitarists and vocalists of the modern era and a prolific songwriter and producer. Throughout his prolific career as part of three of the greatest live groups in rock history – Allman Brothers Band, Gov’t Mule and the Dead – and an acclaimed solo artist, Haynes has become one of music’s most treasured storytellers.

Official Website