Joanna Connor’s New Album Hits The Number One Spot On Billboard’s Blues Albums Chart

Chicago-based slide guitarist and singer-songwriter, Joanna Connor, best known as the Queen of blues rock guitar, is celebrating the fact that her new album ‘4801 South Indiana Avenue‘ is #1 on Billboard’s Blues Albums Chart –

The album was released to great critical acclaim on Joe Bonamassa’s new independent blues record label KTBA Records on Friday 26th February 2021.

Joanna’s new single, ‘Bad News‘, a raw and gritty blues cover of the Luther Allison classic, is available to stream and the new album is available to pre-order Here.

The music video for ‘Bad News‘ was premiered on YouTube this week.

The new album was produced by Joe Bonamassa and Josh Smith at Ocean Way Recording Studios in Nashville, Tennessee. Joanna, Joe and the rest of the musicians on the album dug deeply and conjured up an authentic, alive and kicking non-derivative set of Chicago Blues.

Says Joanna, “We chose the album title ‘4801 South Indiana Avenue’ because it was the actual street address of the hallowed funky blues sanctuary ‘Theresa’s Lounge.’ We want the listener to open that door, walk in and feel to their core some of the magic that a place like that brought night after night. It was an honor to bring this to you, the listener.”

Joanna has played guitar with the who’s who of blues including the likes of James Cotton, Buddy Guy, Jimmy Page, and Junior Wells. Debuting at Chicago’s premiere blues club Kingston Mines in the 1980s, she played there three nights a week ever since, in between gigs at larger clubs and festivals, before the spread of the pandemic earlier this year.

An aggressively edgy and highly innovative blues rock guitarist with a tight groove that encompasses jazz and funk, Joanna’s hailed by many as one of the most powerful and influential female guitarists in the world.

The new album reflects an entirely new experience from the way Joanna has recorded music in the past. “This album is a homage to the blues school that I attended in Chicago,” says Joanna. “We tried to capture the spirit of tradition and inject it with raw energy and passion.

Track Listing:

  1. Destination (3:31)
  2. Come Back Home (4:19)
  3. Bad News (6:26)
  4. I Feel So Good (3:35)
  5. For The Love Of A Man (4:20)
  6. Trouble Trouble (3:40)
  7. Please Help (4:14)
  8. Cut You Loose (4:09)
  9. Part Time Love (5:06)
  10. It’s My Time (4:39)