Scorpions To Release Retail Version Of ‘Wind of Change: The Iconic Song’

The Scorpions celebrate 30 years of ‘Wind of Change‘, the anthem that became a musical representation of freedom and change worldwide, by releasing the retail version of the box set ‘Wind of Change: The Iconic Song‘.

The box set ‘Wind of Change: The Iconic Song‘ is dedicated exclusively to the power ballad written by Klaus Meine, which became the soundtrack for the end of the Cold War. Inspired by the experience of playing at the Moscow Music Peace Festival in 1989, ‘Wind of Change‘ embodies the feelings of hope, optimism, and the prospect of a better future.

When we came on stage in the Lenin Stadium and started the show with ‘Blackout‘, all the Red Army soldiers, who function as security, threw their hats and jackets in the air, turned to us, and became part of the crowd. The world was changing right in front of our eyes…It was unbelievable!” – Klaus Meine, 2020

In 84 pages Dr. Edgar Klüsener, former Editor-in-Chief of Metal Hammer and close confidant of the band, dives deep into the story behind the song. Having interviewed Klaus Meine exclusively for this purpose in June 2020, he writes about the genesis and impact of the song, which has become a sign of hope and freedom to people around the world. Additionally, the book contains several pages of photographs from the band‘s photographer Didi Zill and from Klaus Meine‘s private archive, as well as the handwritten lyrics for ‘Wind of Change‘ by Klaus Meine.

In addition to the book the box set includes a vocal and piano arrangement of ‘Wind of Change‘ as well as a CD and 12” LP with 5 versions of the song: the original ‘Crazy World‘ – album version, the Berlin Philharmonic version, the Russian and Spanish versions, and an unreleased demo version by Klaus Meine.

In times of COVID-19 and all the wild conspiracy theories in these extremely trying times, “Wind of Change” is like a hug, a good friend from a time when the hope for a peaceful world seemed to be fulfilled. The dream of peace lives on in this song.” – Klaus Meine, 2020

Pre-Order starts on October 3, 2020 – the 30th anniversary of German Reunification.
Available through all retailers and on

The box set will be released on Black Friday, November 27, 2020.

Deluxe box set includes

●            12” LP & CD
●            84-page hardcover book with story written by Dr. Edgar Klüsener, former Editor-in-Chief of Metal Hammer and close confidant of the band
●            Rare and exclusive photographs by Didi Zill, band photographer during that period
●            Interview with Klaus Meine
●            Material from Klaus Meine‘s private archive
●            Vocal and piano arrangement


1.            Wind of Change (Crazy World Version)
2.            Wind of Change (Scorpions & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Version)
3.            Ветер перемен (Russian Version)
4.            Viento de Cambio (Spanish Version)
5.            Wind of Change (Unreleased Demo Version by Klaus Meine)

1.            Wind of Change (Crazy World Version)
2.            Wind of Change (Scorpions & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Version)
1.            Ветер перемен (Russian Version)
2.            Viento de Cambio (Spanish Version)
3.            Wind of Change (Unreleased Demo Version by Klaus Meine)

EXCLUSIVE: there are limited units left of the hand-numbered D2C Version, of which only 2,020 units will be released. Sold exclusively at