Walter Trout Releases Official Video For ‘Heartland’

Walter Trout has unveiled the official video for his new single ‘Heartland‘, ahead of the release of his brand new studio album ‘Ordinary Madness‘, which will be released on 28th August via Provogue.

Speaking about the track, Walter explains “Heartland‘ is a song about summoning the courage to follow your dreams. It’s the story of a young girl but she could be anyone who has come to a crossroads in their life. She realizes that to follow her dream to make more of her life, requires stepping out alone, into the vast unknown. It’s about taking the great gamble.

Admirably open about his troubled youth, and his own ongoing struggles with mental health, the bluesman had spent recent tours soothing himself by scribbling down his thoughts and feelings. It was only later he realised he’d just written the most honest lyric-sheet of his career – and felt he had an opportunity to let fans share and identify with him. “Everybody is dealing with something,” he says. “And I’m no different from anybody else. ‘Ordinary Madness‘ doesn’t mean you’re gonna end up in a mental institution. It’s just being human. It’s common humanity.

Trout convened his band of Michael Leasure (drums), Johnny Griparic (bass) and Teddy ‘Zig Zag’ Andreadis (keys) – along with long-time producer Eric Corne, plus special guests Skip Edwards, Drake ‘Munkihaid’ Shining and Anthony Grisham. The backdrop, once again, was the private LA studio of Doors legend Robby Krieger.  “The whole place is full of vintage gear, and it’s all there for you, whatever you want. The keyboard that Ray Manzarek used in The Doors – it’s just fucking sitting there. I remember, on the rhythm track for OK Boomer, Michael Dumas, who runs the studio, comes walking in and says: ‘Here’s the SG that Robby used in The Doors – wanna try this?’ Then, for the rhythm guitar on Heartland, he says: ‘Here’s one of James Burton’s Paisley Telecasters…’”


  1. Ordinary Madness
  2. Wanna Dance
  3. My Foolish Pride
  4. Heartland
  5. All Out of Tears
  6. Final Curtain Call
  7. Heaven In Your Eyes
  8. The Sun Is Going Down
  9. Make It Right
  10. Up Above My Sky
  11. OK Boomer

Official Website