Devilfire Release New Single ‘Dead Man Walking’

Dark melodic hard rock quintet, Devilfire, have released a brand-new single ‘Dead Man Walking‘ available via all main download and streaming platforms.

Dead Man Walking‘ is the third single released from their forthcoming album – ‘Black Soul Vendetta‘ – scheduled for Fri 04 September 2020.

Devilfire’s frontman, Alex Cooper said of the song, “Dead Man Walking is a song about hope verses hopelessness, about good versus evil but mainly it’s about being wrongfully accused of something you didn’t do.

A while back I got very into the debate of capital punishment and the ethical debate of the death penalty. I guess it was watching an adaptation of ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ by Charles Dickens that got me thinking what would it actually feel like to have to walk to my death, knowing I didn’t commit the crime I was accused of?

This I thought would make a great lyrical premise for the song. So, I tried my hardest to put myself in those hypothetical shoes.

I tend to write from what I know and for the first time I wasn’t drawing on my personal experiences, only from what I could imagine my emotions would be. Once I got my head around that, it seemed to flow a lot better. It’s a punchy song that seems to lash out with anger at injustice and I think that’s what I wanted to convey.

Devilfire are a 5-piece hard melodic rock engine from Birmingham, England formed off the back of an early studio session between long term friends, Alex Cooper (producer) and drummer, Lars Wickett. Their working project, then known as Devilstar, took 3 years to gestate before things fell into place on a lengthy tour of Eastern Europe as guests to Tarja Turunen. That tour cemented a growing reputation as a live force and what followed was the undeniable power of their debut album, ‘Dark Manoeuvres‘, released in 2017 to high acclaim.

Dark Manoeuvres‘ was followed up with further sold-out dates on the road before the release of a short-run EP Out Of The Dark to placate fans’ demands for further material.

Now, with the release of ‘Dead Man Walking‘, as a follow up to the well-received singles, ‘Dream Evil‘ & ‘Chasing The Pain‘, they introduce the world to their new full-length album ‘Black Soul Vendetta‘. And they have only just begun.

Line up:

Alex Cooper (vocals)
Baz Blackett (guitars)
Kieran Topp (guitars)
Jay Downes (bass)
Lars Wickett (drums)

Official Website





Apple Music


Amazon Music


Google Play