Edenbridge – New Studio Album The Great Momentum Released February 17th


Edenbridge, Austria’s premier Symphonic Melodic Metal act, have announced the release of their stupendous ninth studio album, ‘The Great Momentum’, on February 17th on Steamhammer / SPV, as a DigiPak CD, double gatefold 180 gram golden vinyl album (with printed inner sleeves plus CD in a cardboard sleeve), box-set, download and stream.

Edenbridge, the band formed by composer, multi-instrumentalist / main man Lanvall and soaring, expressive singer Sabine Edelsbacher, have once again succeeded in raising the bar ever higher on ‘The Great Momentum’, a powerful, diverse, hauntingly atmospheric symphonic melodic metal masterstroke.

The Great Momentum’, containing nine awesome anthems, is the band’s toughest release to date; Lanvall explains that “It’s mainly the balanced equilibrium of heavier guitar sounds and focused orchestra parts that account for the songs’ great dynamism. The orchestra is used selectively and even more consistently, which creates room for all the other instruments. Sabine’s lead vocals and the big choirs play a bigger role than on any previous Edenbridge album. In addition, there’s the incredibly powerful and at the same time organic drum sound courtesy of our fantastic new drummer Johannes Jungreithmeier, who recorded all the drum parts for the album in no more than nine hours.

While each track is a highlight, mention must be made of album opener ‘Shiantara’ with its metal guitars and bombastic chorus, which was inspired by sci-fi series ‘Star Trek’. No less impressive are the first single ‘The Moment Is Now’, the extraordinarily orchestrated ‘A Turnaround In Art’, or twelve-minute album closer, ‘The Greatest Gift Of All’ which features every one of the band’s fortes; bombastic arrangements, sheer power, speed, but also great sensitivity and empathy.

Like its predecessors, ‘The Grand Design’ (2006), ‘Myearthdream’ (2008), ‘Solitaire’ (2010) and ‘The Bonding’ (2013), ‘The Great Momentum’ was mixed by Karl Groom (Threshold) at his Thin Ice Studio in Surrey, England, and the mastering taken care of by Mika Jussila (Stratovarius, among others) at the renowned Finnvox Studios. Among the guests featuring on the album are vocalist Erik Martensson (Eclipse, W.E.T, Nordic Union) and the Junge Philharmonie Freistadt orchestra.

The album cover artwork is a joint production by the American artist Anthony Clarkson (Geoff Tate, Fear Factory, among others) and Edenbridge drummer Johannes Jungreithmeier. “This atmospheric blend of elegance and energy is the ultimate symbol of the music on ‘The Great Momentum’” rejoice Edenbridge, who are set to embark on their second tour of Vietnam in March 2017. Along with two concerts in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City (the former Saigon), an 80-minute show will be recorded for Vietnamese TV as the tour’s climax. There’s simply no stopping Edenbridge’s great momentum into the symphonic metal stratosphere!

Track listing 2CD Digipak:

CD 1
1. Shiantara (5:51)
2. The Die Is Not Cast (5:15)
3. The Moment Is Now (4:21)
4. Until The End Of Time (4:36)
5. The Visitor (5:54)
6. Return To Grace (5:13)
7. Only A Whiff Of Life (3:44)
8. A Turnaround In Art (7:32)
9. The Greatest Gift Of All (12:18)

CD 2
1. SHIANTARA (instrumental, 5:51)
2. The Die Is Not Cast (instrumental, 5:15)
3. The Moment Is Now (instrumental, 4:21)
4. Until The End Of Time (instrumental, 4:36)
5. The Visitor (instrumental, 5:54)
6. Return To Grace (instrumental, 5:13)
7. Only A Whiff Of Life (instrumental, 3:44)
8. A Turnaround In Art (instrumental, 7:32)
9. The Greatest Gift Of All (instrumental, 12:18)

Track listing 2LP
LP 1
Side 1
1. Shiantara (5:51)
2. The Die Is Not Cast (5:15)
3. The Moment Is Now (4:21)

Side 2
1. Until The End Of Time (4:36)
2. The Visitor (5:54)
3. Return To Grace (5:13)

LP 2
Side 1
1. Only A Whiff Of Life (3:44)
2. A Turnaround In Art (7:32)

Side 2
1. The Greatest Gift Of All (12:18)

Line up:
Sabine Edelsbacher: Lead Vocals
Lanvall: Lead & Rhythm Guitars, Bass, 6 & 12 String Acoustic Guitars, Nylon Guitar, Piano & Keyboards, Hammered Dulcimer, Bouzouki
Dominik Sebastian: Lead & Rhythm Guitars, Nylon Guitar
Johannes Jungreithmeier: Drums

Guest Musicians:
Erik Martensson: Lead Vocals on ´Until The End Of Time`
Thomas Strübler: Backing Vocals & Choirs
Alex Koller: Additional Backing Vocals
Junge Philharmonie Freistadt

Live Dates 2017
24.2. A-Traun – Spinnerei
26.2. A-Wien – Szene


Official Website