Derek Davis is no stranger to the top of the music charts. As frontman and songwriter for the successful Arista Records rock band Babylon A.D. Davis’ songs achieved Gold record status and multiple Top 10 AOR chart success. His two recent iTunes Blues Chart #1 singles, ‘Mississippi Mud‘ and ‘Death Letter‘, from his album ‘Resonator Blues‘ released last year shows Davis is at the top of his game.The new single, an acoustic ballad about heartbreak and suffering in a relationship turned toxic, lends vivid story telling and an emotional vocal performance that shows off Davis’s creativity, and is one of his best to date.

“It’s a War Of Love, wounded by the battles, broken inside
It’s a War Of Love, nothing really matters, who wins this fight
It’s a War now baby, hearts will be shattered out on the front lines
It’s a War Of Love, we’re picking up the pieces of us tonight!”

The new song and video can be purchased and watched at:

Derek Davis hails from Oakland CA. A natural-born singer/songwriter/musician and gifted performer, Davis began playing drums at the age of 11, later switching to vocals and guitar. He began his professional music career at the age of 16, writing songs, fronting bands, and headlining clubs, bars, and other music venues in the San Francisco Bay Area.

As a former Arista Records recording artist with hard rock band Babylon A.D.’ signed by the legendary music mogul “Clive Davis”. Derek has released 12 records to date including his three solo records, ‘Revolt’, ’Revolutionary Soul’ and last years critically acclaimed ‘Resonator Blues’ which produced two #1 iTunes Blues singles ‘Mississippi Mud’ and ‘Death Letter‘.

As a songwriter/co-publisher with Virgin/EMI Records. Derek has had many of his songs covered by other artists and several songs placed in films and TV, He is the consummate songwriter, singer, musician, producer and showman and has done extensive tours across the U.S. and Europe.

His new band Derek Davis & the Revolutionary Souls released their first single/video in April 2020 titled “Pandemic Blues” (The Summer Days) Via WTF Sci-Fi Records.

Official Website




Derek Davis, Frontman and Songwriter for former Arista Records and Frontiers Records recording artists, Babylon A.D. has just released his first single and video ‘Sweet Cream Cadillac‘. The track is from his upcoming new album ‘Resonator Blues‘, which lands worldwide on June 1st, 2019.

Sweet Cream Cadillac‘ is a 1960s foot stomping, hand clapping, dancing at the hop type of up-tempo song, with a memorable slide-lead played on a Silvertone acoustic. Girls and Cadillacs, is the story line and fun, fun, fun is the motor that runs this uplifting piece of swinging blues!

Resonator Blues‘ is Derek’s third solo album after his initial 2012 release ‘Re-Volt‘. His second offering, the 2017 ‘Revolutionary Soul‘ ushered in some great Retro Soul, and was widely praised by music critics and fans alike. In total, Davis has performed and written on twelve albums. With a wide range of influences, Hard Rock, Southern Blues Rock and Old School R&B Soul, and now the Blues.

On his latest offering Derek Davis weaves early Delta Blues, Americana, Folk, Hillbilly Twang, Southern Rock, Traditional and Jump Blues all into one. The twelve mesmerizing tracks, of which, ten, Davis has written, pin the listener’s ears back and demand they sit up and take notice. Bottleneck-Slide is prevalent on nearly all the tracks along with some wailing harmonica and sometimes a blistering Texas Telecaster lead will be heard. This is a multifaceted album, a journey of sorts all rolled into one great magical music ride across America down highway 61.

The vision of Derek Davis, who not only sings and plays all the different guitars and bass on the record, also does a masterful job creating lyrical landscapes with a moving production. The voice of Derek Davis is unmistakable. He belts out each song with emotion, passion and power, using his amazing gift to reach the listener and weave his tales. The voice is gritty yet melodic and every song is sung as it should be. His guitar work is exceptional, raw, and captivating.

To sum it all up, Davis has made one hell of an American Blues album. In a day and age where it seems music is made by computers and programmers that have sucked the life out of the music of today, it’s great to find a hidden gem that can and will stand the test of time. Vinyl anyone?

Track listing:

  1. Resonator Blues
  2. Sweet Cream Cadillac
  3. Mississippi Mud
  4. Penitentiary Bound
  5. Jesus set Me Free
  6. Red Hot Lover
  7. Death Letter
  8. Whiskey And Water
  9. Unconditional Love
  10. It Hurts Me Too
  11. Back In My Arms
  12. Prison Train

Official Website