Absolva have released a video for ‘Burning Star‘, the first video off the forthcoming album ‘Side By Side‘, The band’s fifth studio album.

The lyrics and video are inspired by the life and times of Roky Erickson of the 13th Floor Elevators.

The ‘Side by Side‘ album is set for official release on 17th April and is already attracting critical praise….

The band started the ‘Side by Side‘ World Tour in January with 8 dates in Brazil. Following a brief trip to France and Netherlands, they play Burr Fest (London) this coming Saturday (7th March) before re-joining the tour cycle in Europe from 18th April (visiting Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, and France) until 2nd May, then UK dates a little later in the year and Metal Magic Festival (Denmark) in the summer.

British metal band Absolva have released an Official lyric video for the track ‘Rise Again‘, taken from the forthcoming double album ‘Defiance‘.

Absolva, the British metal band featuring one member of Iced Earth and three members of Blaze Bayley release ‘Rise Again‘, the official lyric video, taken from the forthcoming album ‘Defiance‘ which is set for release on Rocksector Records, 28th July 2017.

The band includes brothers Chris Appleton (Blaze Bayley / Fury UK) on lead vocals and lead guitar, and Luke Appleton (Iced Earth / Fury UK) on rhythm guitar and backing vocals, together with the concrete backbone of drummer Martin McNee (Blaze Bayley / Fury UK) and bassist Karl Schramm (Blaze Bayley).

Absolva rose from the ashes of Fury UK when Luke Appleton first joined Iced Earth as bassist in May 2012 and ‘Defiance’ is this prolific band’s fifth album, following studio records ‘Flames of Justice’ (2012), ‘Anthems to the Dead’ (2014), ‘Never A Good Day to Die’ (2015) and live album/DVD ‘Beyond Live’ (2013).

With a heavy touring schedule, the members of Absolva have become recognised as some of the hardest working musicians around, playing extensive tours in Europe as the backing band with Blaze Bayley (Iron Maiden singer 1994-1999) and also of course for the high energy and professionalism of their own headline shows.

Chris has this to say “Fans have had to wait a little longer than our normal for this record, whilst we’ve been on tour with Blaze virtually non-stop this year but we’re truly excited to release this first lyric video now. It’s an upbeat song and I think more than ever with the new album we’ve really focused on just what is at the core of a great Absolva song”.

Disc One has 12 tracks and was recorded in January-February at Axis Studios, Doncaster, England, mixed, mastered and produced by Matt Elliss. Coverart design is by Caio Caldas at Cadiesart, whilst the original ‘alien womb’ logo design is from Mike Collins at Lungfull Design.
‘Reflection’, the final track on disc one is a metal version of an acoustic song previously performed by Luke Appleton together with dear friend Wizz Beauprez (aka Wizz Wizzard) who sadly passed away in December 2016 after a battle with cancer. Luke adds “The new album is rightfully dedicated to Wizz. He supported Fury UK back in the day, helping us get established in Europe, then continued that support when I joined Iced Earth and when Absolva was born also. I had great times performing our acoustic sets with him, he was a talented singer in his own right and he will always have a very special place at the heart of Absolva”.

Disc two features the ‘Harsh Reality’ single from 2016 plus live tracks recorded at Huskvarna Rock and Art festival, Sweden in 2016, as well as new acoustic versions of one song from each of Absolva’s previous studio albums.

The full European tour schedule to promote the new album is this….

15: Germany, Renchen, The Come Inn
16: France, Pagney-Derriere-Barine (Nancy), Chez Paulette
17: Belgium, Deinze, Café Elpee
19: Germany, Krefeld, Kulturrampe
20: Netherlands, Geleen, Café De Meister
22: Switzerland, St-Maurice, Manoir Pub
23: Les Pennes Mirabeau (Marseille), Le Jas Rod
27: Czech Republic, Prague, Hells Bells
28: Germany, Muhlhausen, Kulturfabrik
29: Germany, Herdorf, Rattenloch
30: Germany, Balingen, Sonnenkeller
2: Germany, Konstanz, Rockbar
7: UK, Newcastle, Trillians
8: UK, Glasgow, Ivory Blacks
9: UK, Manchester, Sound Control
10: UK, Swindon, The Vic

Official Website