Moritz - SOS

Well I’ve finally got my hands on the much anticipated new release from British melodic rock / AOR band Moritz.

The fact I’m writing this review is the first indication that I’m not disappointed. Start playing and your immediately greeted with the sort of melodic rock /AOR that British bands have long since been famous for.

Let’s remember one thing, if the singer doesn’t cut it then the rest of the music is really somewhat irrelevant as the listener is immediately put off. But Pete Scallan’s vocals are superb, showing us that he’s not lost any of the tone and range from days gone by.

There’s always a danger with melodic rock / AOR releases that the keyboards will be too prominent in the mix. Thankfully this is not the case with SOS, the production & mix certainly pleasing to these old ears of mine.

I must not forget to mention the rest of the band, Gregg Hart & Mike Nolan on guitars, Ian Edwards on bass, Andy Stewart on keyboards and joining the original line up is John Tonks delivering just the right amount of attack on the drums.

Stand out tracks for me would have to be ‘Invincible’ ‘Soul of Fire’ & the first single off the album ‘Gonna Lose Her’

So is this release ‘over hyped?’ Not for me it isn’t & I cannot wait to see them perform this new material live.

Rating 9/10

Track listing: Fire, Can’t Hide My Heart, Gonna Lose Her, Remember Yesterday, Mercury Falling, Amberlee, Caught Between Life & The Light, Invincible, Flying Too Close To The Sun, Soul Of Fire, SOS


Peter Scallan – Lead & backing vocals

Greg Hart – Electric & acoustic guitars, vocals

Mike Nolan – Electric guitar, vocals

Ian Edwards – Bass, synthesizers, Hammond organ, vocals

Andy Stewart – Piano, Wurlitzer, synthesizers

John Tonks – Drums, percussion, programing


Well I’ve finally got my hands on Redrum’s new album ‘ Victim Of Our Circumstances’

Been rather looking forward to this release having liked their first album and also being a fan of Michael Bormann’s work.

Michael has taken the helm with this release, and once again this German/Greek collaboration has really come together, giving us a coherent, well paced slice of melodic rock. You’ll certainly recognize one of the tracks as it’s cover version of the John Farnham classic ‘You’re The Voice’

The rest of the tracks are a fine examples of well structured tunes, which for me personally I find instantly likeable.

Stand out track for me is ‘Dust In Your Eyes’ which has a fabulous bluesy feel to it.

So there you are, Michael Bormann still delivering the goods vocally and the rest of the band giving us a tight and powerful output.

Another album I’d highly recommend.

Rating 8/10

Label – RMB Records

Tracklisting: One Of Us, Scream, You Can’t Buy No Hero, Dust In Your Eyes, Empty Promises, Pokerface, Dirty White Boy

Mother I’m Coming Home, Tear Down The Walls, Have A Nice Day, Victim’s of Our Circumstances, You’re The Voice.


Athan “Lyssa” Kazakis – Guitars
Panos Baxevanis – Guitars
Michael Bormann – Vocals
Marco Grasshoff – Keyboards
Alex Kidd – Bass
Thanos Sarketzis – Drums


I’ve been waiting ‘patiently’ for this release ever since the band announced that all the recording/mastering etc was complete.

I’ve been a fan of Pretty Maids after first seeing the video for ‘Love Games’ which prompted me to buy Future World plus all their previous releases and of course all releases since, come to that!

“Well of course your going to like it” I here you say, “your a fan.” Well that’s true I guess. However I don’t blindly follow a band. Instead I am critical of their output where I think necessary. To remain consistent throughout a career is not easily done.

‘Motherland’ does not disappoint on any level. It is just what the doctor ordered. A breath of fresh air amongst what has to be said are a lot of samey releases by various bands, to a point that you could be hearing one of half a dozen different acts.

It grabs you by the throat, in a good way, immediately serving up a slice of pure melodic metal. Stand out tracks? Tricky one that as I love them all. However if I do have to give examples then I’ll go with ‘Sad To See You Suffer’ & ‘ Wasted’

Rating – 10/10

Label: Frontiers Records Music Style: Melodic Metal
Cat #: FR CD 593 Cod: 8024391059326
Release dates:
EU: March 22nd 2013
NA: March 26th 2013
Tracklisting: Mother Of All Lies; To Fool A Nation; Confession; The Iceman; Sad To See You
Suffer; Hooligan; Infinity; Why So Serious; Motherland; I See Ghosts; Bullet For You; Who What
Where When Why; Wasted.

Ronnie Atkins – vocals
Ken Hammer – guitars
Morten Sandager – keyboards
Allan Tschicaja – drums
Rene Shades – bass